The dream ends

My worst fears are now confirmed. Rushed to the hospital, with severe abdominal pain and heavier bleeding. While there, I pass some darkish clots, which leave me in no doubt as to what is happening. I sit on a bed in a cubicle on my own, as my husband is told to wait outside, waiting to see the doctor on call. In the cubicle next to me, I can hear a baby’s strong heart beat on the fetal heart monitor, as its mother waits to be admitted to the labour ward. I feel as if my heart is breaking…

Leave a Reply

