How long before HCG level drops?

I am wondering how long it takes the pregnancy hormone level to drop? I have had three blood tests and it still hasn’t dropped to 0 yet. I am being monitored at the hospital and getting weekly blood tests. I have read that depending on when the pregnancy loss occurred, it can take anything from days to weeks. Also the bumps around the nipples called montgomery’s tubercles have not disappeared yet. What has anyone else’s experience been of this? I would love to know….

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Kate
    Jun 16, 2009 @ 00:14:44

    It took me four weeks for them to drop to zero but mine had dropped even while the fetus was inside me as it had died a while earlier. I’ve heard it can take up to 8 weeks. I’m sorry for your loss honey, I’ve been there too. *hugs*

    Reply

  2. mkwewer
    Jun 16, 2009 @ 14:00:31

    Depends on how long you were pregnant. My 8 week miscarrriages took about 4 weeks to return to normal.

    Reply

    • JBBC
      Jun 16, 2009 @ 15:13:13

      Thanks for taking the time to reply to my question. I was 8 weeks pregnant too so that gives me an idea – I was under the impression that it dropped straight away, but I see now that isn’t the case.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

