Why do you blog?

42484-Clipart-Illustration-Of-A-Shiny-Glass-Question-Mark-Reflecting-Light-On-A-Blue-Surface

I am not new to blogging, I have another life as a blogger on breast cancer, but if I thought sharing my thoughts on that subject was personal, well that’s nothing compared to the soul-bearing that is dealing with pregnancy loss and fertility challenges. 

But reseraching fertility blogs out there in the blogosphere, I have to say that I am in awe of your writings. The quality of information, the eloquence, the sadness, the hope, the black humor, the empathy…I could go on….suffice to say for now it is a huge inspiration and support to me. I don’t feel so alone now, or that I am going crazy. And on that same subject, I came across a great post on the brilliantly named Womb For Improvement (how cool a title is that!) blog. So I just had to share some of it with you, if you haven’t already come across it.

I started this blog because I felt lonely. I have lots of friends but at the time I only knew of one who was having difficulty conceiving. I wanted to find people going through the same thing as me. I wanted to hear about how they coped. But I couldn’t find any. (I know, God knows what search term I was using, infertility bloggers are like pregnant women – they are everywhere as soon as you start looking).community of infertile bloggers. There is hope when you read about people who have gone through seven kinds of shit and finally get pregnant. There is support when you have a terrible test result. There are the brilliant comments when you write something that captures the imagination.precipitate a pregnancy.

If I am honest I didn’t expect the blog to last. I had a sneaking suspicion that I was over-reacting and I would get pregnant any day. I thought I’d loose interest as I have with so many other hobbies (knitting, millinery, playing the trumpet). I thought I’d run out of things to write about.

So why do I keep going? It is you lot. I started because I couldn’t find anyone going through similar experiences but pretty quickly I got linked in to the whole

I started the blog to write about my feelings, to keep (close) friends up-to-date with the daily machinations of my uterus and to

One year on I keep writing this blog because of the comments, feedback and because I feel a real connection with my readers (the majority of whom write blogs that I read).

So thanks guys for continuing to drop by, and hopefully come August things will get a bit more interesting around here.

What about you? Why did you start blogging – and what keeps you going?

10 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. mkwewer
    Jun 18, 2009 @ 16:26:37

    I started blogging because I suffered a horrible loss with one of my twins and I thought this was the best way to connect with people who would understand. And then a month later, the other baby died. All of the sudden I was so lonely and angry and hurt and I didn’t know what to do or feel or how to be. People who had been through this told me what to expect. Now, I want to be that person for other women. I like to think of it as a “grief sister.”

    Reply

  2. Womb For Improvement
    Jun 18, 2009 @ 22:08:37

    Thanks so much for your lovely comments about my blog. When i hear from people like you who have gone so much I am a bit in awe. I don’t know how I’d react to a miscarriage and cancer as well, fuck. I hope your miracle comes along soon. Very, very best wishes.

    Reply

  3. Murgdan
    Jun 19, 2009 @ 02:25:49

    🙂
    I’ve had a similar post brewing in my head for the last few days…..
    Will craft it soon.

    Thanks for your comment today.

    Reply

  4. iamstacey
    Jun 19, 2009 @ 02:45:30

    I started blogging just to keep a record of this whole experience. But I got so much more than that. I don’t know anyone else in life who is dealing with infertility, it’s so good not to feel alone.

    Reply

    • JBBC
      Jun 19, 2009 @ 08:11:33

      And I am learning that we really aren’t alone! I love what one of the earlier comments said earlier that we are united as “grief sisters”…

      Reply

  5. sally_ames
    Jul 21, 2009 @ 10:13:04

    I blog for that sense of community you get – you are among people who understand exactly what you are going through

    Reply

  6. sorcha
    Jul 21, 2009 @ 10:13:37

    I love that term “grief sisters” – fantastic description

    Reply

  7. mimibathora
    Dec 11, 2009 @ 19:37:50

    Excuse me for writing OT … what wordpress template do you use? It’s looking stunning.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

