First period following miscarriage

So today, I wake up with cramps and some brownish spotting, and am torn between firstly feeling relieved that my cycle seems to be kicking back into action but also reliving the miscarriage with all its physical symptoms (just like a period) and the emotional impact. There also seems to be some remanining tissue from the miscarriage because I didn’t need a D&C and that is quite upsetting.

From my research, I understand that this period does not mean that my cycle has returned to normal or that I am ovulating as before. I spent almost a year working with a holistic nutritionist to regulate my cycle  in the first place, so I guess I will have to start all over again now.

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Kate
    Jun 27, 2009 @ 20:44:07

    Thanks for explaining to me. I have been confused. I’m on CD49 this is my first cycle after my miscarriage and I’m very frustrated. I heard every pregnancy, successful or otherwise, changes your hormonal makeup. I’m on progesterone to try to induce a period now. I’m nervous it won’t work . . .

    Anyways I am sorry you’re still seeing more “products of conception” *hugs*

    Reply

    • JBBC
      Jun 27, 2009 @ 20:52:10

      I am very new to all this Kate – so just trying to figure it out as I go along and learning so much from others, like yourself, going through the same thing. I didn’t realise that every pregnancy, successful or otherwise, changes your hormonal makeup, so that’s another new thing I learned today!

      Fingers crossed the progesterone works for you xxx

      Reply

  2. iamstacey
    Jun 28, 2009 @ 02:42:17

    I’m so sorry AF brought up all those miscarriage feelings again. 😦 {{{{hugs}}}}

    Reply

Leave a Reply

