Do you speak TTC?

confused at computerI am so new to all of this. When I read fertility blogs, it is like I am reading something written in another langugage. For a long time I had no idea what anyone was talking about. TTC, OPK, CD, BFN…what on earth was everyone going on about. I lurked on the message boards trying to figure it all out, but not able to join in, feeling like a foreigner unable to speak the language. Not only did I feel like an outsider in the world of those with children, but now I felt like an outsider in the world of those without children too! I was so frustrated and it added to my sense of isolation.

Then I found an explanation of all the abbreviations in Fiona McPhilips excellent guide to fertility treatment in Ireland,Trying To Conceive: The Irish Couple’s Guide. What a relief. At last I can speak the language. I am still only learning though, and I have to keep Fiona’s guide to hand. Today I am in another location, without my guide book, and once again when looking up an aspect of TTC, I find myself all at sea again.

I even feel a little embarassed admitting to my ignorance, but surely I am not the only one to experience this? Just wanted to raise the issue, in case like me, there is anyone else out there who is new to this and feeling all at sea. You are not alone! I think I need to do an idiot’s guide to TTC….

6 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Womb For Improvement
    Aug 01, 2009 @ 18:26:29

    One of my first posts was an acronym dictionary for that very reason! But I also try not to use many abbreviations on my blog because of how incomprehensible I find so many other blogs.

    Reply

    • JBBC
      Aug 01, 2009 @ 20:39:36

      Phew! So I am not so alone. I just felt that it could make novices at this feel even more inadequate/isolated or maybe that’s just my super-sensitivity coming to the fore 🙂

      Reply

  2. iamstacey
    Aug 02, 2009 @ 05:53:34

    lol I still learn some new acronym every day! 🙂 I’m so excited for ya’ll getting ready to jump back in the TTC boat. Happy we’ll be going through it together!

    Reply

  3. Fiona
    Aug 03, 2009 @ 11:17:11

    Glad I could be of some help. I do hate some of those acronyms but it does make a messy situation easier to discuss! Very best of luck with it all.

    Reply

  4. georgi42
    Aug 07, 2009 @ 17:25:25

    tee! hee! i know just how you feel

    Reply

Leave a Reply

