The 2 week wait

hopefulSo I’ve heard a lot about the two week wait (2ww – see I’m learning) and have seen the myriad of blogs called after this time between ovulation and testing for pregnancy, and now here I am experiencing it in a more intense way than ever before. I want so desperately to have conceived this time. Sure, I have wanted it before, but since the miscarriage, I want it even more. Husband is not happy with my obsession this week, so I have had to keep it to myself. Once again I feel as if I am carrying a secret around, which is why it’s so great to be able to blog about it. He just wants me to put it to the back of my mind until the 2ww wait is over. Just forget about it until then, he says. As if I can. We’ve done all we can this month, either it’s happened or it hasn’t, there’s nothing you can do about it now, get on with something else and forget about it!

Implantation of the embro in the uterine lining happens between 6-10 days post ovulation (dpo) I am 5 days into the 14 day wait and boy have those five days seemed endless – only another 9 to go. I need to go back and read my own post on how to stop obsessing because I can’t think of anything else. I am on the look out for possible signs of pregnancy which of course mimic signs of pre menstrual tension too – what a cruel trick that is to us TTCers.  You know, the tender breasts, the crampy feelings, the tiredness, the heartburn. So far I am experiencing nothing out of the ordinary, except for one little sign – some creaminess in the cervical mucus (CM – I really am learning). I  am trying to be very hopeful and focussed on a positive outcome. I say affirmations – I am pregnant, I am pregnant, I am pregnant and  I pray to every saint I can think of.  If wishing and praying could make you pregnant, I would have have it sorted by now.

How does anyone else deal with the 2ww? If you have been trying for a long time and are all too familiar with this, do you remain hopeful each cycle? Or are you just resigned? I would love to hear how you handle it.

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. iamstacey
    Aug 11, 2009 @ 21:27:57

    I didn’t handle it very well last time. I seriously obsessed.

    Doing a little better this time, but I have a lot to keep my occupied. I’ve read some blogs where they take a trip during the wait. I think that’s a great idea! Now if only we could afford a trip every 6 weeks on top of TTC… 🙂

    Reply

  2. zita
    Aug 13, 2009 @ 18:16:29

    Stacey you are so right in your comment! And yes, I too am a veteran of the old 2ww and it does’t get any easier I’m afraid

    Reply

  3. Trackback: 2010 in review « Diary of a Miracle

Leave a Reply

