My first acupuncture experience

Well, I had my first acupuncture session and I am happy with Michelle, the practitioner but I cannot say that I particularly enjoyed the experience. It hurt! I felt a lot of pain in some areas and a burning sensation and I wasn’t expecting that. Michelle has diagnosed a blood deficiency and is going to work on that and my stomach/spleen meridian.

Blood deficiency is defined in TCM as not enough blood to distribute to our body organs needs. I googled this and came up with the following explanation from Kyle J. Norton

“When there are any deficiency in the body, such as blood deficiency, our brain’s primitive reaction for survival decreases the blood flow to the reproductive organ leading to reproductive system working at minimum state or completely shutting off…Blood deficiency leads to abnormal function of reproductive system in regulating menstrual cycle that disrupts the production of egg or produces poor quality egg and makes uterine mucus hostile to sperm.”

I hope Michelle has hit on something here and that working with her, we can enhance my chances of conceiving naturally.

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. wendipeters
    Sep 10, 2009 @ 14:06:10

    I too am considering acupuncture for my fertility problems. I am interessted to hear out you get on. Keep us posted!

    Reply

  2. iamstacey
    Sep 10, 2009 @ 18:48:59

    I didn’t like acupuncture when I first tried it years ago (long before TTC). But I’ve read so many positive things about it in relation to infertility treatment, I’m beginning to wonder about it myself! Keep letting us know what you think about it!

    Reply

    • JBBC
      Sep 11, 2009 @ 08:59:21

      So glad to hear you didn’t like it Stacey – well not glad of course, but what I mean is I feel less alone in not liking it, but my husband, ever the scientist, says you don’t have to like it, just see if it works! I use reiki and reflexology for relaxation in conjunction with acupuncture as I DO like them!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

