Things that gladdened my heart this week

Picture 126

So, I think I am in danger of letting this blog become one big moan-fest and tempting as it is to do another post along the lines of things my heart grieved over this past week, I decided it’s time I also looked at the good things in my life. We can become so obsessed with what we haven’t got, that it is easy to overlook all that we do.

This weekend the sun shone and yesterday we spent a beautiful day in our town just enjoying the sun and each other’s company. I could dwell on all the families that were also doing the same and how my heart ached a little, but I won’t. Instead, I will think of how the sunlight glinted on the water, how the little boats bobbed up and down in rhythmic unison in the jetty, how good the whipped cone tasted in the sunshine, how lucky I am to be living in this beautiful place, to have a kind, loving, husband, a beautiful home, so many things.  Ok, so I give in to a little moan here, and can’t help it if I think that the only thing missing in yesterday’s idyllic scene was our own baby to share it with, but that being said, it was a perfect day. And now this morning, we get to lie in, to read the papers while drinking freshly brewed coffee, all the things I know my friends with children have forgotten how to do. I have to keep telling myself this and like them, I know that if this time next year we had a baby, we would look back on this weekend with nostalgia and perhaps wish we had it all to ourselves again…or would we??

5 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. briony
    Sep 20, 2009 @ 16:32:20

    Well done on wanting to count your blessings but I agree it’s hard not to dwell on that gaping hole missing in our lives when we cannot conceive.

    Reply

  2. amanda
    Sep 20, 2009 @ 16:32:54

    The sun sure does bring out those family groups – it can be sooo hard to watch.

    Reply

  3. Lorna
    Sep 20, 2009 @ 17:33:17

    I’m sure it will happen – that you will be bleary eyed from lack of sleep and smell of baby milk and wish for 10 minutes so that you could have a quick shower and wash your hair! And you will be so glad you had that special time when it was just 2 of you – cos it won’t happen again for many years!
    Keep believing and keep working at it. You are such a positive person it just has to work out for you.
    xx

    Reply

  4. JBBC
    Sep 20, 2009 @ 22:18:53

    Thank you so much for that Lorna…it’s funny you paint such a “lovely” picture of motherhood 🙂 If you were describing any other experience other than motherhood, who would sign up for it!!!

    Reply

  5. iamstacey
    Sep 21, 2009 @ 04:52:31

    Thanks for reminding me to count my blessings. ‘Cause there are so many more blessings that lacks and it was high time I remembered that!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

