Acupuncture update

Yesterday I had my third acupuncture session…and I am not happy…

If you remember I started spotting after my first session, and that spotting got heavier over the next few days until I ended up with a full bleed. I was very confused, as I thought I was due to ovulate that month and here I was with what looked like a period, two weeks after my last period. I started to panic a bit and thought for a mad few hours that I was having another miscarriage – it seemed like I was. I ended up taking a pregnancy test, fearful that I was and fearful that I wasn’t at the same time. Of course it was negative, but it took a huge toll on me emotionally.  I bled for most of that week after my first session.

When I went back the next week, the practitioner said not to worry, although it was an extreme reaction, it was part of the process of regulating my cycle. Now, I thought my cycle was pretty regular to begin with, but since starting acupuncture, my CM has dried up and I am not ovulating.  I need to trust in the process and hold onto the bigger picture. It is hard though. I worked for nearly a year to get myself to a point where my periods were regular and I was ovulating, so it is hard to let go of the control and find myself in this position again. It is hard to trust the process sometimes….

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. briony
    Sep 22, 2009 @ 16:38:19

    thanks for continuing to post your experiences with acupuncture. It is useful for others considering it…doesn’t sound too pleasant though 😦

    Reply

  2. Lorna
    Sep 22, 2009 @ 18:14:46

    Is it worth getting a second opinion? talk to another acupuncturist? I know when you are waiting that the delay of even a single month can seem like a lifetime. Has your acupuncturist given you an indication as to how long this might last?
    I’m considering going to acupuncture again – didn’t have any side effects the last time but it didn’t result in anything positive either. Some people swear by it.

    Reply

  3. Womb For Improvement
    Sep 22, 2009 @ 21:33:43

    That is odd. I’m still religiously going to acupuncture but haven’t really noticed anything at all… positive or negative.

    Reply

    • JBBC
      Sep 23, 2009 @ 00:11:21

      Thanks for all your comments. She hasn’t indicated how long this will take to work itself out but I will give it another few sessions and then make a decision on what to do then. I have an apmt at the hospital with my gyny in october so I will what her opinion is then. I really appreciate you taking the time to let me know what you think – at the risk of repeating myself ad infinitum – it makes me feel less alone x

      Reply

Leave a Reply

