Gone but not forgotten…

My friend Lorna posted this on her Facebook status yesterday:

In memory of all babies born sleeping or whom we have carried but never met, or held in our arms. Make this your profile status if you or someone you know has suffered the loss of a baby. The majority won’t do it, because unlike cancer, baby loss is still a taboo subject. Break the silence, In Memory of all Angel Babies gone too soon but never forgotten! xxx

How beautiful! It brought tears to my eyes, but then it brought me a sense of comfort and peace. I hope by posting it here, it helps someone else today.

Thank you Lorna  for your courage in breaking the taboo and for posting such a beautiful message of comfort.

6 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. roberta robinson
    Jan 21, 2010 @ 17:36:04

    this is very touching – thanks for sharing.

    Reply

  2. Lorna
    Jan 21, 2010 @ 19:25:40

    it is interesting too the ‘unlike cancer, baby loss is taboo’ – interesting that society accepts cancer as a topic of conversation as well as an illness and a tragedy but not baby loss.

    Reply

  3. Michele
    Jan 21, 2010 @ 21:31:34

    I’m not on facebook, but that is really sweet.

    Reply

  4. Lisa G
    Jan 22, 2010 @ 17:43:46

    Well done Lorna!

    Reply

  5. chrissy
    Jan 25, 2010 @ 09:39:08

    very moving…

    Reply

  6. Nicole
    Jan 25, 2010 @ 21:43:11

    I posted this in my facebook status as well. But I have to admit, I had a pang of confusion and hurt at the “unlike cancer” part. I understand that loss is loss. And losing a child is a major loss. But I don’t think that its taboo as much as its just so painful that people tend not to want to discuss the issue. Whereas with cancer, its painful but people live to tell the tale. And many want to talk about it. But I rarely bump into people who want to discuss how they lost a child.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

