Hypno Fertility

Today I had my first session with Aisling Killoran, a psychotherapist who works with clinical hypnosis, among other techniques, to bring about healing and positive change.  I have worked with Aisling  in the past and found her techniques extremely effective. This time I wanted to work with her on shifting the grief and depression I am feeling over the miscarriages last year. I really believe this is preventing me moving forward in so many ways.

Aisling believes that thinking you are  “infertile” keeps you stuck and it amplifies itself through us physicialy, mentally and emotionally. I believe that is true of my mental and physical state right now.   I feel tired all the time, weepy, nauseous and depressed.

Aisling made me relaxed and comfortable before taking me on a hypnotic journey to my “fertility garden”.  I felt calm, peaceful and relaxed in my “garden” and Aisling planted seeds of hope and positivity in my mind before taking me back to the present. At one stage I was frantically gathering up dead leaves, which represented all the emotions that no longer served me and when Aisling pointed out that there was a rake nearby to help me gather them up, I looked around surprised. Typical me…I didn’t think to look for anything to make my life easier – I always have to do things the hard way! 

Now this may all sound very “out there” to some of you and I fully understand that – this isn’t for everyone; but I find that talk therapy just doesn’t work for me. I can talk and talk and talk about my grief (and believe me I do!) but personally that doesn’t help me move forward or resolve it. I need something more. I am not saying that this a guaranteed way to conceive again, but what I am saying is it is my best chance to achieve the optimum state of mind and body to help bring it about. I believe it will decrease the stress and strain of trying and it has already given me back some of that sense of control which I had lost over the past year.

Aisling  follows the HypnoFertility programme developed by Lynsi Eastburn to help women conceive and she is part of a group of health practitioners combining their knowledge of medical and holistic therapies. The team includes a nutritionist, acupuncturist, reflexologist and a family planning nurse and their approach is all about bringing the mind and body into balance to make sure you have the best possible chance of conceiving your baby.

If you feel drawn to this approach, you can check out Aisling’s  Accomplish Change website for more details.

9 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Laura McGonigle
    Feb 12, 2010 @ 19:04:52

    Not sure I believe this can get you pregnant, but I take your point about relaxation and the mind body connection. Just wary of some of these so called alternative ways to make you pregnant. So long as you don’t expect it to be a miraculous solution to your fertility problems.

    Reply

  2. Fiona Byrne
    Feb 12, 2010 @ 19:07:34

    Like Laura I wouldn’t be so sure about many of these alternative solutions, but I AM convinced by your sensible practical approach to exploring this avenue.

    Reply

  3. Rosemary Collins
    Feb 12, 2010 @ 19:09:28

    Well done on being proactive in taking control back of your life.When you set off on this fertility merry go round, you need to be in the best possible place emotionally and physically and you are right to realise this and do something about it. Good luck with it all!

    Reply

  4. divinecarol
    Feb 12, 2010 @ 19:12:40

    Never underestimate the mind body connection! It cannot be overlooked in any approach to fertility – we need to deal with a couple holistically. thanks for posting.

    Reply

  5. Vicki B.
    Feb 12, 2010 @ 19:13:52

    Found this post very helpful as I too am finding it extremely difficult to move past my depression and grief following a recent miscarriage.

    Reply

  6. dpower45
    Feb 12, 2010 @ 19:14:59

    We can quite easily become stuck in the grieving process so well done for recognizing this and doing something about it.

    Reply

  7. JBBC
    Feb 12, 2010 @ 19:17:37

    Thanks for all your comments everyone. I hope I did make it clear in the post that I am not making any claims that it is a solution to infertility, but I am convinced of the mind/body connection and the need to address it.

    Reply

  8. Lorna
    Feb 12, 2010 @ 19:38:34

    Brilliant post as always :), you describe it all so well and I think you are so right about the mind-body connection for so many people, admittedly not for everyone but even if it just helps you feel better, it is a plus. I tried hypnotherapy last May and yours sounds so much better. For the week after the first one, I felt I had been to 3 funerals (saying goodbye to 3 miscarriages), I can still feel the chubby arms around my neck as I said goodbye to what might have been my chubby blonde toddler. Having said that, the second session was remarkably positive in its outcome and I felt a lot better (and laid a lot of ghosts to rest).
    I was convinced getting pregnant was a case of mind over matter but found out in Oct there was a lot more wrong than my initial consultant had found.
    I agree re talk therapy, it might be good to talk but it doesn’t move you on that far. Am delighted to hear it has helped and hope it continues to do so, Lots of love, Lorna

    Reply

  9. Gabby
    Feb 22, 2010 @ 10:59:00

    I agree with Lorna – getting pregnant is not just a case of mind over matter, but if it helps you clear the mental decks so to speak, to face what you need to in terms of fertility investigation, well then that is a good thing. So long as you dont’ think it is a solution in and off itself!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

