Miscarriage in the soaps

As an occasional watcher of TV soaps, I was aware that the character of Becky McDonald in Coronation Street, while relishing her newly pregnant status, was about to have her dreams shattered by a miscarriage. I am curious to see how the writers will deal with this issue.  Becky is a complicated character with a history of abuse and neglect in her life, and her initial response to the miscarriage, is to blot out the pain with alcohol and self-loathing.

 “Kid didn’t stand a chance… I had my chance and I blew it. That’s it. Over.”  cried Becky. Her husband tells her she is not reacting like a “normal” woman who has just lost a baby. She didn’t go to the hospital, but headed straight to the pub instead. But, this is Becky’s way of coping, and is in keeping with her character.

I felt a stab of recognition watching her confusion and pain at the realisation that her dream of happiness had passed her by, and I had to turn away from the channel after a few minutes, as it was all too close to home for me right now.

5 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. dana
    Mar 03, 2010 @ 15:08:34

    I couldnt bear to watch it at all – too many memories of my own miscarriage 😦

    Reply

  2. alisha
    Mar 03, 2010 @ 15:09:12

    It did seem a strange way to react alright – but as you say it is in keeping with her soap character

    Reply

  3. daniella
    Mar 05, 2010 @ 08:40:37

    I watched it last night and felt a stab of recognition when Becky said something about it being too good to be true…

    Reply

  4. Angie
    Mar 08, 2010 @ 10:55:04

    I am seriously unimpressed that by the end of the week, Becky had seemingly gotten over the m/c and was ready to try again – not realistic!

    Reply

  5. shauna
    Mar 08, 2010 @ 12:51:28

    Absolutely agree with Angie – was disgusted to see how quickly she supposedly got over the miscarriage.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

