Ouch!

They said it wouldn’t hurt..but it did!

I did my first Gonal F injection last night. The kit consists of a pen with a pre-filled syringe containing an injection of follitropin alfa, a recombinant form of the human follicle stimulating hormone (FSH). This is the hormone responsible for stimulating the production of egg-containing follicles in women and sperm in men.

So I carefully laid out the kit and read through the instructions. I primed the pen, set the dose and got ready to inject into my tummy. All was going well, until the last moment when my needle phobia took over. It is not good having a needle phobia when you are undergoing fertility tests..there are so many blood tests to be done. My phobia started with chemotherapy – sitting for a few hours while the poison is being injected into your body through the IV, knowing how sick you will be afterwards can do that to you. Trying to find a vein to inject when the veins are weak from chemo will also do it to you. My veins are still very weak after six months of chemo and the trauma of the phlebotomist or doctor trying to find a vein each time I have to have a blood test has heightened this phobia. I thought I would be ok though this time..it’s not as if I had to inject into a vein, but just the very sight of the needle in my hand was enough to freak me out. I really thought I wouldn’t be able to do it, which of course made me panic all the more. I jabbed tentatively at a place on my tummy several times, before I took the plunge and inserted the needle all the way.  I clicked the pen as I was instructed then pulled out the needle. It was only when I looked at the instructions again, that I read you are supposed to leave the needle in for at least 5 seconds. Cue mild hysteria. So now I don’t know if it worked or not – if I left it in long enough. I am still sore at the site of the injection today and worried I haven’t done it right. The next injection is due in 48 hours, but this time I am getting my husband (who says I am being totally over the top and overly dramatic about all this) to inject me!

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. catherine
    Jun 11, 2010 @ 11:44:28

    oh sorry to hear it hurt but just think of the good that it is doing you. I am sure the injection did go through!

    Reply

  2. foxesmd
    Jun 15, 2010 @ 10:46:46

    Good luck with your treatment!

    Reply

  3. Trackback: On the road again… « Diary of a Miracle

Leave a Reply

