Wishing..and hoping..and dreaming…

And so it begins…the (almost) three-week wait..and I am not exactly renowned for my patience…

The IUI went well yesterday..not at all as stressful or difficult as I had feared, thanks to the very competent, informative and kind nurse who performed the procedure. I have always had more faith and trust in nurses than doctors and once again, this has been proved true. They are so much more approachable and empathetic. She was great at explaining what was happening step by step and she encouraged me all the way with “you are doing really well” words. I felt a little mild cramping but nothing particularly painful. It is uncomfortable but the wonderful nurse really helped me feel relaxed and in control.

DH was right beside me holding my hand and I felt like we were really doing this together. I felt we were very close and connected as we sat together -it felt surprisingly intimate, despite the sterile setting. Afterwards the nurse left the room for about 15 minutes, so we had that time to hold hands and put all our energies towards wishing the best outcome for the procedure.  I lay there feeling very emotional and doing a visualisation for conception. I felt a lot of emotions..excitement, anticipation, hope, joy, longing and gratitude for the procedure and for all the good wishes from friends..I am so grateful to those of you who may be reading this, who have shown me such great support over the past week – thank you!

After we left the clinic, we went for a drive and had some lunch in a lovely picturesque place by the sea. We stopped off at a beautiful old church and lit a candle as a symbol of hope and faith on our way home. Later that night, we did our own IUI – the natural way – so if this works, who can tell whether it will have been because of the procedure earlier in the day or our own lovemaking later that night. Not that it matters, as it really didn’t feel at all like I had feared..a clinical detached experience – I am just so grateful that science can offer hope in this way to couples who are experiencing difficulties conceiving.

And so now it begins…the wait…for either my period to come or if not, the pregnancy testing – I have to wait 18 days after the procedure before I can test. Eighteen days!!! Why, that’s almost three weeks…how will I last that long???

23 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Rosemary Collins
    Jun 19, 2010 @ 10:07:26

    I am wishing and hoping and praying right alongside you ((((hugs))) and more ((((hugs)))))

    Reply

  2. Angie Lomax
    Jun 19, 2010 @ 10:07:51

    I really hope you get your dream xxxxx

    Reply

  3. Chrissy
    Jun 19, 2010 @ 10:08:18

    Fingers crossed my dear

    Reply

  4. Fiona Byrne
    Jun 19, 2010 @ 10:08:51

    What a great post – very beautiful and full of love and hope..I wish you all the best

    Reply

  5. Helena
    Jun 19, 2010 @ 10:09:23

    Fiona is right..a very moving account of your fertility journey

    Reply

  6. michelehaytko
    Jun 19, 2010 @ 11:27:56

    WOW! 18 days! We always had our bloodtest about 12 days later. I think I’d go nuts! We will just have to keep you busy to keep your mind off it (as if!).

    Peter and I would always be as intimate as we could in the IUI room. And our RE demanded we do our own IUI as you so cutely put it at home and for the next 2 days, not just to up our chances but because it is emotionally better for parents if they feel there was a chance it was their private intimacy that conceived their child.

    I am hoping that you are already pregnant and that little one is burrowing deep within! Fingers crossed!!!

    Reply

  7. JBBC
    Jun 19, 2010 @ 11:49:58

    Thanks for all your comments everyone and Michele thank you very much for what you said..as you can tell this is all very new to us!

    Reply

  8. debbie
    Jun 19, 2010 @ 20:50:06

    Wishing and hoping and praying for you my dear Marie. This was a beautiful post and so full of love and hope and promise. All my love to you and your DH:) (((((((((((((((((((HUGS))))))))))))))))))))))))) Deb

    Reply

  9. Luann
    Jun 19, 2010 @ 23:10:20

    Marie what a wonderful post! Do you know what a special lady you are???? 🙂 Praying Gods Blessing with you and Bille. Long distant hugs all the way from NC to Ireland 🙂

    Reply

  10. Marcia Banta
    Jun 20, 2010 @ 04:46:37

    May 18 days fly away with the wind and your hope be rewarded.

    Reply

  11. Lorna
    Jun 20, 2010 @ 21:12:02

    Oooh, crikey 18 days – we’ll all be counting them along with you my dear 🙂 Keep yourself busy and enjoy the sunshine xx

    Reply

  12. Jane G
    Jun 21, 2010 @ 11:35:19

    Keeping everything crossed for you petal xx

    Reply

  13. Jessie
    Jun 22, 2010 @ 13:54:36

    Is the 18 day wait because you may otherwise get a false positive after the injections? I am reckoning it must be so. Good luck – fingers crossed

    Reply

  14. Tara
    Jun 23, 2010 @ 10:53:56

    Wishing and hoping right alongside you hon xxxx

    Reply

  15. Hope Langford
    Jun 23, 2010 @ 12:16:46

    I’ve been dipping in and out of your blog for the past year and I sincerely wish the best for your future happiness

    Reply

  16. Erin
    Jun 23, 2010 @ 12:37:38

    Fingers and toes crossed for you xxx

    Reply

  17. Loraine
    Jun 23, 2010 @ 14:03:22

    18 days!!!! How on earth will you wait that long???

    Reply

  18. Cathy Hogan
    Jun 23, 2010 @ 14:23:27

    My Dear Marie, Josie, Tony and I lit candles for you Sunday here on our Father’s Day at our Parish, Holy Name of Jesus Church in WPB, FL, and we are praying for you everyday. We love you and want you to feel our embrace on your journey of Love, Hope and Faith for God’s Will in your Life today and everyday xxoxo Cathy

    Reply

  19. Freya
    Jun 25, 2010 @ 09:15:27

    Fingers crossed for you, I hope you will get a very happy result in 18 days.
    A big fat positive:))
    Hugs…

    Reply

  20. Steph
    Jun 29, 2010 @ 08:59:54

    11 days done and counting… all fingers and toes crossed!

    Looking forward very much to meeting you shortly (((hugs)))

    Reply

    • JBBC
      Jun 29, 2010 @ 10:26:14

      Thanks Steph…so are you coming this Saturday?? That is wonderful! I am really looking forward to meeting you 🙂

      Reply

  21. Susan
    Jun 29, 2010 @ 09:57:34

    Just wondering how you are coping with the (more than) 2WW???

    Reply

  22. Trackback: And now we wait… « Diary of a Miracle

Leave a Reply

