Black and Blue

I have been injecting myself with heparin every day which acts as a blood thinner, because last year’s post miscarriage blood tests revealed that I have antiphospholid syndrome – a possible cause of miscarriage. I am hoping that this is the cause of my miscarriages and that the heparin injections will help prevent another. I am taking them alongside a daily dose of aspirin.

In antiphospholid syndrome, it is believed that tiny clots get stuck in the developing placenta, blocking the flow of nutrients to the baby and eventually causing miscarriage. Heparin injections thin the blood and decreases the tendency to form clots.

I am not finding the injections easy to administer..not with my needle phobia. The injection itself stings and as you can see from the picture above I am bruised a lot from them. I alternate the side of the tummy I am injecting and do a different place each time, but still the bruises are spearding out in a radius across my tummy.

Hopefully, it will all be worth it in the end, but if anyone has any tips on how to minimize the sting of the injection and the bruising I would love to hear from you.

6 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Cathy
    Jul 15, 2010 @ 08:24:28

    Ouch! Have you tried arnica gel for the brusises?

    Reply

  2. Gill
    Jul 15, 2010 @ 08:34:25

    Try icing the area before you inject.

    Reply

  3. foxesmd
    Jul 15, 2010 @ 11:03:48

    It will be all worth it in the end 🙂

    Reply

  4. Luann
    Jul 16, 2010 @ 23:40:49

    Baby is appreciating all of what mom is dong to make sure everything is ok!

    Reply

  5. hailey
    Jun 01, 2012 @ 11:29:48

    I am right there with you girly, except I have the pump… Catheter in stomach 24/7. Heck with your doc or nurse immediately to ensure that is normal bruising.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

