I’m a little tadpole…

Today I gave in and decided to let go of my detachment…for a little while. I have been trying not to think about how the baby may be developing but today, I gave in and decided to look up its developmental stage.

At this moment, it is shaped like a little tadpole, about 2 mm long – tiny, but visible. The baby’s heart is beginning to beat and major organs have started to develop. Facial features are starting to form too. Nostrils are becoming distinct and the earliest version of the part of the eyes that is sensitive to light (retinas) is forming. Wow!

Now how do I go back to feeling detached? This feeling of attachment is creeping up on me despite my best intentions….

7 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Aideen
    Jul 15, 2010 @ 11:04:26

    Just enjoy this feeling and whatever happens you will deal with it.

    Reply

  2. Dara
    Jul 15, 2010 @ 12:42:45

    How sweet 🙂

    Reply

  3. Steph
    Jul 15, 2010 @ 15:36:15

    I’m a little tadpole,
    short and sweet.
    Here’s my nostrils
    and here’s my feet.
    When the time’s right,
    you’ll hear me shout…
    “Get to the hospital,
    I want to come out!”

    Sorry, just couldn’t resist it! 😀

    Reply

    • JBBC
      Jul 15, 2010 @ 15:39:03

      Oh Steph – that is so sweet – thanks for making me smile 🙂 Let’s hope this little tadpole can hold on until “the time’s right”!

      Reply

  4. Emily
    Jul 15, 2010 @ 16:12:48

    Hang on in there with your mommy little tadpole ;_)

    Reply

  5. Joanne
    Jul 15, 2010 @ 21:59:56

    I just stumbled across your blog – our stories are a bit similar. I have had two miscarriages in the past year after 2/3years of ttc. We are on our second IUI starting injections any day and your story gives my heart alot of hope. It is so tough to stay positive but as your previous comments have stated – miracles do happen! Congratulations on your pregnancy x

    Reply

    • JBBC
      Jul 16, 2010 @ 08:41:57

      Joanne thanks for your kind words and yes the reason I am posting my story is for the very reason that I took great hope from the successes of others. I wish you a miracle too and the strength to go through your fertility treatment. M. x

      Reply

Leave a Reply

