Early pregnancy scan

So I am in equal parts excited and apprehensive about my early pregnancy scan scheduled for this week. If all goes well, I will feel more confident and reassured about this pregnancy, but I also haunted by the fear that the scan will show a non-viable pregnancy.

Generally from 6 ½ -7 weeks is the time when a heartbeat can be detected and viability can be assessed. The presence of an embryonic heartbeat is a  sign of the health of the pregnancy, so I am praying for some reassurance. Actually as I write these words, I can feel my anxiety going up another notch, so I better leave it there for now…

5 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. edel morgan
    Jul 27, 2010 @ 09:57:01

    I can read the stress in your words. Try not to worry – I know that is easy for me to say, but all that worrying won’t change the outcome and isn’t helping either you or the baby – I say that with love sweetie xxxx

    Reply

  2. Chrissy
    Jul 27, 2010 @ 09:57:28

    Am thinking of you x

    Reply

  3. Emma
    Jul 27, 2010 @ 09:58:07

    Best of luck! Try to stay positive as much as you can.

    Reply

  4. womb for improvement
    Jul 27, 2010 @ 11:39:03

    Very best of luck. Let us know how it goes.

    Reply

  5. Steph
    Jul 28, 2010 @ 21:15:04

    What will be, will be… I know that sounds cruel but it’s reality.

    I’m crossing everything for you.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

