The precious beat of your tiny heart

So at last this blog can live up to the title “diary of a miracle”, for the most miraculous feeling swept over me when I saw the tiny little heart of this baby beating on the scan machine. It truly is a miracle to witness it. The fear that haunted me of seeing no heart beat could be put aside..for just a little while. I still can’t totally let go of that fear – it so early in this pregnancy and I am very aware that anything could happen, but oh those few minutes of watching the monitor were filled with such joy and relief. It is like nothing I have ever felt before.

The midwife did her measurements and told me that the baby is 7 mm and I am 6 weeks 4 days pregnant according to her calculations, which surprised me, as according to the date of my last period, I had calculated 7 weeks, 2 days.  I am not sure what this means and my brain started straight away wondering if it is something to worry about. I really have to get a handle on this worry. I thought the scan would reassure me, and to a small degree it has, but I am still anxious. It feels like I am holding the most precious treasure that could break at any moment.

18 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. michelehaytko
    Jul 29, 2010 @ 15:00:48

    Measuremetns can be off here and there, but this is great news! So happy for you!!!

    Reply

  2. Melissa
    Jul 29, 2010 @ 15:13:50

    Wonderful! I have tears in my eyes reading this sweetie.

    Reply

  3. Leanne
    Jul 29, 2010 @ 15:14:27

    Wishing you a healthy and happy pregnancy from here on out xxx

    Reply

  4. Emily
    Jul 29, 2010 @ 15:15:03

    Michele is right. I wouldn’t be worrying about those measurements!

    Reply

  5. Adi
    Jul 29, 2010 @ 15:15:45

    Beautiful! Try to enjoy this time and not spend it worrying so much! ((hugs)))

    Reply

  6. Lily
    Jul 29, 2010 @ 17:32:09

    Wonderful news 🙂

    Reply

  7. Steph
    Jul 29, 2010 @ 18:31:11

    Wow! Such lovely news.

    Don’t worry too much about measurements/weeks etc. at this early stage.

    With my two (successful) pregnancies, the hospital gave me different EDD’s according to my reckoning. They both arrived late (according to the hospital EDD) and more importantly, they were both perfectly healthy 8 lbs babies!

    And remember, miracles really do happen! (((hugs)))

    Reply

  8. Luann
    Jul 30, 2010 @ 08:24:11

    Marie, I am so glad you are blogging on this! I am so excited for you. Yes life is truly a miracle that comes from God. I have been praying for you on a regular basis and will continue my dear! For you, baby and your hubbie! How is he doing???? 😉 Hugs today Marie

    Reply

  9. patricia
    Jul 30, 2010 @ 09:30:47

    Hi Marie

    I have goose bumps – so great. Marie, God will do his part but you have to do your part ie keep healthy , eat nutritious food etc and most of all dont worry becuase worry is negative energy so every time you worry – affirm “my baby is perfectly healthy” – say it at least 500 times a day and gradually you will feel more confident and relaxed.

    Of course I understand where you are coming from but remember we are in charge of our minds and thoughts are not facts – thoughts are free so choose the powerful ones – I want to hold that little baby in nine months time

    Sending you Reiki and Angel Love

    Patricia

    Reply

  10. debbie
    Jul 30, 2010 @ 15:57:51

    Thanks so much for sharing your joys and worries. I have been praying for you every night and I picture you with that baby growing inside you and I get so happy for you. Hold on to the hope and faith and love. Sending you all of mine. xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx

    Reply

  11. JBBC
    Jul 30, 2010 @ 16:03:48

    Oh Debbie thank you xxx

    Reply

  12. helena
    Jul 31, 2010 @ 10:11:46

    Congratulations on your precious miracle x

    Reply

  13. Marian
    Aug 01, 2010 @ 21:05:10

    Congrats on your wonderful news. **Hugs**

    Reply

  14. Peg Mulligan
    Aug 02, 2010 @ 15:57:33

    Oh, Marie,

    What a wonderful week to check in together! If you could measure the smile on my face right now, you’d know how very joyful I feel, at learning this news. Thank you for sharing it with me.

    That uncertain feeling is likely to stay with you, most of the pregnancy. Completely normal, under any circumstances, and especially all that preceded…It doesn’t go away, after the birth, either…So glad to welcome you to this wonderful club, once more, where the joy and uncertainty is wrapped up together, as all truly worthwhile things in life are.

    I will check in here throughout your pregnancy, and offer all sorts of support, affection, and encouragement…

    Congratulations on this wonderful news!

    Peg

    Reply

  15. Paula
    Aug 02, 2010 @ 22:29:23

    So happy for you Marie and your precious cargo. Keep the positive and happy thoughts alive and all will be well xx

    Reply

  16. Lorna
    Aug 03, 2010 @ 11:05:03

    Don’t worry too much about the measurements – at least not until you are 8 months and they are telling you you have to give birth to a colossal baby!!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

