All is love

A friend sent me this in an e-mail this morning and so today I am holding on tightly to these words…

Everything is really full of love for you.  The good that is for you loves you as much as you love it. The good that is for you seeks you and will come flying to you if you see that what you love is love itself. All people will change when you know that they are love. We shall change toward all people when we know that we ourselves are formed out of love. All is love. There is nothing in this universe but love. (Emma Curtis Hopkins)

Growing up I had a very strong faith and all through the trauma of my breast cancer diagnosis and treatment, my faith kept me going.  Throughout all of the ups and downs of my life, I felt strong in my faith, I felt protected and guided by a Higher Power and it really did sustain me.  Last year when I got pregnant so unexpectedly, I prayed harder than I ever did in my life for my baby’s protection – that it would be safe and grow normally and healthily until it was time to come into this world. When I started to miscarry,  I prayed and prayed that I wouldn’t lose the baby. I felt completely abandoned and let down when I did. I lost all sense of connection with any benevolent Higher Power. With this pregnancy I felt I needed to be able to trust again and I had started to pray for protection for this baby and believe once again in miracles. Well you know the rest…

My husband has no doubts about the existence of God – for him there is no God. He is a confirmed atheist, but he believes in the power of love – he tells me that I taught him that. He asked me if I still believe in love and I told him that I do – I have felt the power of his love and the outpouring of loving support from friends during this past week.  He tells me to believe in Love, to believe that God is Love and not to lose faith in that. So today, I am clinging on to the words above and to the love that has surrounded me this past week to see me through.  It is so easy to lose faith when you face a crisis, but with everyone’s loving support, maybe this time I won’t need to.

Yours in love…

Marie x

6 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Fiona Byrne
    Aug 16, 2010 @ 11:43:47

    This is a beautiful post Marie. Your husband sounds like a lovely loving man – hold on that blessing in your life – I believe it is a gift from God!

    Reply

  2. Angela
    Aug 16, 2010 @ 11:44:46

    I believe the reason you have had such an outpouring of love is because you are love yourself – you have always been the first to show compassion and love to many of us and now it is our turn to return it to you.

    Reply

  3. Caoilinn
    Aug 16, 2010 @ 11:45:38

    Angela is right! You are just getting back some of what you so readily give out yourself xxx

    Reply

  4. Maisie
    Aug 16, 2010 @ 11:46:18

    DO hold onto those words Marie. You are not alone – we are all thinking of you and sending you loving healing thoughts xxx

    Reply

  5. topsurf
    Aug 16, 2010 @ 14:45:45

    I believe you get the love you give. YOU are a giver of love in everything you do. It will come back 100 fold to you. I firmly believe that. Sending you healing thoughts and prayers, mixed in with love.

    Reply

  6. Lorna
    Aug 17, 2010 @ 21:24:29

    Well, at times like this it is easy to believe that the Higher Power is very limited!! I have to admit that when I had my third miscarriage I decided that God was definitely a man (had always argued that God could be female!) cos no woman would do that to another woman!
    But that is a lovely quote and yes, I agree, believing in the power of love and indeed in future love, future love with a son or daughter is what keeps us going at times like this.
    Keep strong my dear.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

