The legacy we leave behind

Last Monday, I attended the funeral of a friend and colleague, Christine, who died from cancer after a short illness. It was understandably a sad occasion, but also a celebration of her life and the legacy she leaves behind, chief among them her three handsome sons. I listened as two of her sons stood up to speak about their mother and their upbringing. They paid testimony to the love and guidance they got from Christine and how they were the young men they are today because of her. They spoke about all that she had taught them by her example and her teaching. Christine was a remarkable person, who achieved much in her professional life, but her true legacy is those boys, and all she achieved lives on in them.

Of course, this got me thinking about my own death and what legacy I will leave behind. I felt grief all over again at the thought that if I don’t ever have a child, how will I live on? Perhaps that is a selfish thought after all, but it is a very human one, I think. After we die ,we live on in the memories of our children. Albert Einstein said that our death is not an end if we can live on in our children and I couldn’t help but think of this while listening to Christine’s sons.

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Elena
    Aug 30, 2010 @ 11:25:57

    As an older childless woman, I can readily understand what you mean here.

    Reply

  2. iamstacey
    Sep 01, 2010 @ 21:35:06

    It seems so selfish to admit, but this is one of the first reasons that started me thinking about wanting children 3 years ago. At first, I was just happy to be married. But over time I began to think about what we’d leave behind some day. And it just didn’t seem like our union and our future were complete without leaving a legacy behind in our children.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

