Trusting in life’s everyday miracles

The loveliest thing happened to me this week. The postman knocked on the door with a package in his hand. These days, we mostly seem to get bills and circulars in the mail, so to get an old fashioned card or package is a real delight.

I opened the package to find this angel figurine and a note from Michele, a Facebook friend in the States. On the card attached to the figure were the words “trusting in life’s everyday miracles”. I was so touched by Michele’s thoughtfulness.  I find it so amazing and so wonderful how kind people can be..and to strangers. We’ve never met but she has reached out to me at this time with a gesture of hope and love which has lifted me up out of the doldrums in which I’ve been sinking these past few weeks.

And Debbie, a very dear friend, also in the States and another whom I’ve not met (yet) sent me the loveliest card last week full of loving advice and care, another joyfilled surprise in the mail.  Luann who lends me her strong faith and storms heaven for me. Lily, Paula, Jane and Lorna who check in with me and help me feel less alone. All of these kind, thoughtful, special friends are everyday miracles. And there are those of you who take the time to comment here regularly – I may not always leave a reply if I am feeling very down – but I treasure your comments always. Never underestimate the power of even the simplest kind gesture or word – they have the power to heal the deepest wounds and light the darkest days.

8 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. debbie
    Sep 10, 2010 @ 11:34:22

    I love that statement, “trusting in life’s everyday miracles”. You have been one to open my eyes to the miracles of the ordinary things that happen all around us every day, was it the ‘ducking’ moments? I look for those special moments every day now, they are part of the gift we are given. Love to you, Deb

    Reply

  2. Amelia
    Sep 10, 2010 @ 12:30:05

    What a lovely post. Reminds me of the Emily Dickinson quote – your friends are your estate – and you sound like you have a rich estate there.

    Reply

  3. Lorna
    Sep 10, 2010 @ 14:37:12

    That is lovely and I agree with you, getting those ‘old fashioned’ cards and packages is lovely

    xxx
    Looking forward to seeing you on Monday night

    Reply

  4. iamstacey
    Sep 14, 2010 @ 16:11:03

    The angel is beautiful! Another blogger who lost her twins born too early sent me the most adorable striped socks when I got my most devastating BFN (the last cycle our insurance paid for). It’s so wonderful what something so simple can do to lift your spirits. It’s not the item, it’s the tie to another who understands.
    I hope your week is getting better and your heart is getting lighter.
    Thinking of you.

    Reply

  5. Paula
    Sep 15, 2010 @ 12:31:34

    Oh I just love receiving an unexpected package in the post. What a lovely and thoughtful thing for Michele to do. I wish I could call over to you for a cup of tea every now and then but at least we have email and FB. Pxx

    Reply

  6. cathy
    Sep 29, 2010 @ 09:12:01

    Marie, I have been remiss in reading blogs in the past while, and I am so sorry to hear today of your loss. I can’t find words, but send hugs.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

