Ouch! It hurts!

As part of the thorough investigations ongoing at the Beacon Clinic, I had a laporoscopy and hysteroscopy yesterday and ouch! I am in such pain after it. I thought it was minor surgery and I suppose it is in many ways, but I didn’t expect it to hurt so much.

For those who are non-squeemish and may be interested, laparoscopy is an operation performed in the abdomen through small incisions with the aid of a camera.  It involves two to four incisions: one through the navel, where the scope is inserted, and one to three on the lower abdomen near the pubic hairline, to insert the tools used to manipulate your organs. It can either be used to inspect and diagnose a condition or to perform surgery. In my case the doctor was investigating a possible case of endometriosis as well as having a good old look at my reproductive organs.

And I had a side order of hysteroscopy with this procedure. The doctor wanted to take a look at the lining of my uterus, which is quite thick and to see if a problem in my uterus may be preventing me from becoming pregnant.

So now I feel as if I’ve been in a car crash – my tummy is aching – it hurts to sneeze or cough – I would say to laugh, but I ain’t laughing! My shoulders also ache from the carbon dioxide that was used to fill the abdominal cavity. And my tummy is distended and bloated too as a result. I can’t straighten up to walk right  – I’m like an old crone bent over shuffling along. Remind me to be grateful when I’m no longer in pain, as we forget too easily how great it is to be able to do all the things we take for granted normally.

11 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. onetokeep
    Nov 24, 2010 @ 04:48:32

    Do you ever get the feeling that if the world were needing to be populated by men and they were having the troubles we are, that we would all become extinct? I do! I am sorry you feel all banged up, but hope that you get some answers from it so you truly feel as though it was worth the pain! Rest up! x

    Reply

  2. Lily
    Nov 25, 2010 @ 03:26:04

    Hopefully it will all have been very worthwhile.

    Use that feeling of having been ‘in a car crash’ to take a good rest.

    Reply

  3. Trackback: What is your pain personality? « Journeying Beyond Breast Cancer
  4. iamstacey
    Nov 28, 2010 @ 07:38:36

    The hysteroscopy was uncomfortable for me, but manageable. What I didn’t expect was all the discomfort from the gas! I thought I’d skated thru, but 5 hours later the cramping hit. I can’t imagine having other surgery the same day! You’re a superstar!

    Reply

  5. onetaiya
    Nov 28, 2010 @ 19:39:50

    I just found this. On the plus side, pain is temporary and this may result in answers and solutions! Have a warm brandy, a cozy blanket and heated compress and you’ll be feeling much better soon. Love you sweet Twister!

    Reply

  6. Luann
    Nov 29, 2010 @ 00:11:45

    Oh Marie, I hope you feel better! Praying for you sister! Long distant hugs!

    Reply

  7. nancyspoint
    Dec 04, 2010 @ 21:07:55

    Marie,
    Sorry this was so unpleasant. I hope it results in some answers. You have been through so much. I’m hoping good things happen for you. You deserve it!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

