Why crying is good for you

After the failure of my IUI last Friday, I cried all day until there were no more tears left. I woke up with red rimmed swollen eyes next morning, feeling tired, sad and drained, but in other ways much better. It was as if those tears had cleansed away some of the pain.

Today, my blogger friend Therese, has a wonderful post on the healing power of tears and outlines seven ways in which a good cry can heal us physiologically, psychologically, and spiritually. Her list is based on Jerry Bergman’s The Miracle of Tears and I particularly like the points about crying lowering your stress levels, elevating your mood, releasing your feelings, and my favourite – building community.

Check out Therese’s post – it is a good read and next time you feel like giving full rein to your tears,  go right on ahead – it’s good for you!

6 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Trackback: Tweets that mention Why crying is good for you « Diary of a Miracle -- Topsy.com
  2. Stacey
    Feb 10, 2011 @ 17:26:24

    Marie, I’ve also struggled with infertility, ironically before breast cancer. It led my husband and I to adoption; which for us, has turned out to be our greatest gift, but I know everyone arrives at their destination in their own way.

    I love your post here and couldn’t agree more. I know of a song that says, “It’s alright to cry. Crying gets the sad out of you.” It’s a simple sentiment, but it’s also very right. The question remaining is how much crying will it take to get the sad out? My hope is it won’t take that much for you. Sending hugs.

    Reply

  3. Leona Carney
    Feb 11, 2011 @ 11:10:33

    This was a lovely post – a real boon to us criers of the world!

    Reply

  4. nancyspoint
    Feb 11, 2011 @ 18:08:21

    Marie, I cried during each new phase of cancer and I truly believe it is part of my processing. I think crying is often essential before one can move on in any trying situation, at least that seems to be the case for me. Sometimes it’s awkward because I did not grow up in a family where emotions were out in the open. Anyway, I’m all in favor of a good cry!

    Reply

  5. JBBC
    Feb 11, 2011 @ 19:31:53

    Good to know us cry-babies are in it together 🙂

    Reply

Leave a comment